Flat rate EXPRESS SHIPPING at MYR 50

Jackson English







  • Name: Jackson English
  • Date of Birth: 31 March 1975
  • Place of Birth: Australia
  • Height: 1.93cm
  • Age started on the sport: 14 years old

Achievements:

2nd Molokai to Oahu Paddleboard Race (2008, 2010, 2012)
3rd Molokai to Oahu Paddleboard Race (2002, 2003, 2011)
2nd US Paddleboard Championships (2003, 2004)
2nd Hennessey International Paddleboard Championships (2002, 2003, 2004, 2008)
2nd Maui International Paddleboard Race (2010) and 3rd (2011)
1st Island to Island Waterman Relay (2011)
3rd Singapore Open Water Swimming Championships (2006)
1st OSIM Corporate Triathlon Singapore (2006)
1st Singapore Legs and Paddle Race (2005 and 2006)
5th Mens PaddleBoard Race Australian Surf Life Saving Championships (2004)

What got you started in Paddleboarding? As a kid growing up in Australia, I was always in the water either swimming, surfing or sailing. I spent many years competing in Surf Life Saving Competitions and then in 1997 heard about the Molokai to Oahu Paddleboard race, a 32 mile paddle between the island of Molokai and Oahu in Hawaii. I decided that I wanted to do it. The rest is history and I've done the race 8 times (1999, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2008, 2010, 2011 and 2012)

Why do you enjoy Paddleboarding? It lets me get out into the ocean and away from all the noise on land.

How would you advice a beginner who is interested in Paddleboarding to take up this sport? Get out onto the water as often as you can and practice. Don't forget to laugh every time you fall off and smile every time you are on the water.

Who’s your Sports Idol? Laird Hamilton, Kelly Slater and anyone who trains for an event and gives it everything they have.

How do you keep fit? Lots of training no matter what the day is like.

What is your training schedule like? When training for the 32 mile Molokai to Oahu Paddleboard race, I try to do 10 training sessions a week for the 4 months leading up to the event. The sessions include paddling, swimming and work in the gym. In the lead up to the Molokai to Oahu Paddleboard Race, I usually paddle about 1000kms.

What is your diet like? Really good and especially when training, I try not to eat any junk foods but slip in some chocolate and ice-cream every now and then.

Do you watch what you eat to keep fit? Yes.

What do you do in your free time when you are not training? Spend as much time as possible with my wife Anna and three children Grace (7), Lily (5) and Max (3).

What do you feel before a competition? Try not to get too nervous. I also think about all that I have done to get myself onto the starting line and tell myself to have fun when racing.

What is the highlight of your career so far? Being able to get across the Molokai Channel every year as fast as I can

What is your top personal achievement? Finishing 2nd in the Molokai to Oahu Paddleboard Race three times (2008, 2010 and 2012) and finishing 3rd three times (2002, 2003 and 2011)

What is your key goal for your career? To one day be the first across the finish line in the Molokai to Oahu Paddleboard Race

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years? I see myself living a life that revolves around my family and the ocean (whilst wearing a pair of Quiksilver boardies).

Posted in Bios