Kelly Slater Takes Double Honors at ASP World Surfing Awards

The world's best surfers traded sunlight for the spotlight as they hit the black carpet for the 2014 ASP World Surfing Awards - the night that celebrates the achievements of the 2013 ASP season, and officially opens the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour.

Quiksilver team rider and 11x World Champ Kelly Slater took home top honors for both Heat of the Year and Wave of the Year, as did Roxy athlete and 5x World Champion Steph Gilmore.

The Award Winners:
Peter Whitaker Award: Sofia Mulanovich
Breakthrough Performers: Dimity Stoyle & Kai Otton
Heat of the Year: Kelly Slater, John John Florence, Josh Kerr & Alana Blanchard, Coco Ho
Move of the Year: John John Florence & Tyler Wright
Wave of the Year: Kelly Slater & Stephanie Gilmore
ASP World Junior Champions: Gabriel Medina & Ella Williams
ASP World Longboard Champions: Piccolo Clemente & Kelia Moniz
ASP Women's Rookie of the Year: Bianca Buitendag
ASP Men's Rookie of the Year Nat Young
ASP Women's World Title Runner-Up: Tyler Wright
ASP Men's World Title Runner-Up: Kelly Slater
ASP Women's World Champion: Carissa Moore
ASP Men's World Champion: Mick Fanning

Read the full story here

Tiago Pires & Jeremy Flores

Aritz Aranburu & lady friend

Main image courtesy of ASP. Follow: Quiksilver, Kelly Slater, Steph Gilmore, Tiago Pires, Jeremy Flores and Aritz Aranburu on instagram.

Posted in Blog - Latest News